Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter

    Wednesday, December 20, 2006

    Grobe AP Coach Of The Year

    Jim Grobe held Wake Forest together after a couple of potentially devastating injuries, refused to let his players feel sorry for themselves and turned the perennially downtrodden Demon Deacons into champions.

    For orchestrating one of the most surprising turnarounds in college football - and the best season in Wake Forest's 105-year football history - Grobe was honored as The Associated Press Coach of the Year on Wednesday.


    The Atlantic Coast Conference leads all college conferences nationally with 22 players named to the 2006 NFL Pro Bowl rosters. Eight of the 12 current league members had at least one former player selected.

    Miami leads all schools nationally with six players selected while North Carolina was second with four. NC State tied with Georgia, Oklahoma and USC for third nationally with three players honored. Clemson, Florida State, Maryland and Virginia each had two players selected while Virginia Tech had one.

    No comments: